Deeksharambham, the “initiation ceremony” for the 2015-17 batch of students of Rajagari College of Social Sciences (RCSS) was conducted on June 17,  2015, at Chavara Hall. It was a combined event for all the students of RCSS, from both the Hill (Kalamassery) and Valley (Kakkanad) campuses. The new students from various departments within RCSS, namely, the Rajagiri School of Social Work (RSSW), the Rajagiri School of Computer Science (RSCS), Rajagiri School of Library and Information Science (RSLIS), Rajagiri School of Management (RSOM) and Rajagiri Business School (RBS), were  formally presented the lighted chirathu, the symbolic lamp of learning by the faculty.  The ceremony was initiated  by the Chief Guest Shri. T. P. Sreenivasan, Vice-Chairman of the Kerala State Higher Education Council. The lighting of the lamp was followed by RangaPooja, the reciting of the Bhajans and Readings from the Holy Books. Dr. Neetha J Eappen, introduced the gathering to Rajagiri. Dr. Binoy Joseph, Principal RCSS, welcomed the students, parents, and guests to the Deeksharambhan Ceremony. Fr. Dr. Antony Kariyil CMI, Director RCSS, delivered the presidential address. The Chief Guest, Shri. T. P. Sreenivasan, inaugurated the Academic Year with the lighting of the lamp, and wished the students a new beginning to a successful career on the occasion of Deekhshrambham. The Guest of Honor, Mr. GuilhemeVaz, Member of the Pontifical Council for Laity addressed the students and enlightened them with the value of education, citing anecdotes of the benefits he gained studying at Catholic Educational Institutions. Dr. Joseph Injodey, Executive Director of RCSS, delivered the vote of thanks. The Deeksharambham Ceremony concluded with the National Anthem. The new students were ushered into the 3-day Induction and orientation programmewith a talk by Prof Harish B. Nair on Rajagiri’s innovative pedagogy – Rajagiri Immersive Learning Experience